Thread: Not NFHS!
View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 07, 2011, 05:34pm
ajmc ajmc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
This is clearly a "damned if you do, damned if you don't" situation. NCAA rules are pretty clear on this subject, which received a lot of attention prior to and during this season. As in most cases like this, the violation is clear and had the gesture been ignored, there would have been a justifyable howl for the penalty not being applied.

As stated above the call was correct, the mistake made was made either by the coach, for not informing his players of this prohibition, or the player for ignoring his coach's warnings.
Reply With Quote