View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 04:55pm
Freddy Freddy is offline
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Final Word on 9-9-1 vs 9.9.1C(a)

I know we may have been through this before, but can you clarify for me again the correct interpretation for this apparent conundrum? (I searched but couldn't find the thread from before)...

9-9-1: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in player and team control in the frontcourt if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

9.9.1C(a): A1 is dribbling in his/her backcourt and throws a pass to the frontcourt. While standing in A's frontcourt, A2 touches the ball and deflects it back to A's backcourt. A2 recovers in the backcourt. RULING: It is a violation. The ball was in control of A1 and Team A, and a player from A was the last to touch the ball in frontcourt and a player of A was the first to touch it after it returned to the back court.

If, in the casebook sitch, "touches the ball" suggests no player control established in the frontcourt, both cannot be correct, can they? Please reiterate for me whether we're following the Rulebook or the Casebook on this one.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call

Last edited by Freddy; Mon Dec 05, 2011 at 05:51pm.
Reply With Quote