Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill
We had a varsity game the other day (NFHS rules). We got called for a backcourt violation because our throw-in went from the frontcourt endline, tipped one of our players in the frontcourt, where we retrieved it in the backcourt.
I was told by the ref essentially, that with the new team control rule on throw-ins, all the requirements for a backcourt violation were met.
I agreed with him, that the new rules as written, seem to say he is correct. But, can I tell him next time, that Snaqwells said the committee said they intended it to only apply to fouls? Will he believe me? Who is correct?
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
But they weren't met: the ball was not yet in player control in the frontcourt (9-9-1, 4-13-1). No violation.
The player throwing in the ball does not have player control in the frontcourt if he or she is out of bounds.
|
mbyron's rule citation covers this play as to why it is not a violation. The new wording in 9-9-1 also now unequivocally makes null and void an old interp involving a pass from A1 from the BC to the FC that is tipped by B1 in the FC and then caught on the fly by A1 in the BC.
What the new wording did do was make it legal for A1 in the BC to throw a pass that is tipped by A2 in the FC and then retrieved by A1 in the BC. This should have, however, should have been rectified in 9-9-2 but wording of that article is pretty bad. This apparently is when you need to break out the PowerPoint slide.