Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill
We had a varsity game the other day (NFHS rules). We got called for a backcourt violation because our throw-in went from the frontcourt endline, tipped one of our players in the frontcourt, where we retrieved it in the backcourt.
I was told by the ref essentially, that with the new team control rule on throw-ins, all the requirements for a backcourt violation were met.
I agreed with him, that the new rules as written, seem to say he is correct. But, can I tell him next time, that Snaqwells said the committee said they intended it to only apply to fouls? Will he believe me? Who is correct?
|
And this is the problem with the change. Smart officials who actually thought through the ramifications of the rule changes but haven't, for whatever reason, seen the powerpoint.
Besides, doesn't the new rule require PC inbounds before it can be called? Book's in my bag, and I'm getting ready to head to a game.