View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2011, 01:37pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave9819 View Post
What would be the ruling if A1 attempts a 3-point shot, but the shot is short and B1 accidently tips the ball in (after the try or tap for goal is judged to be unsuccessful, so we would not have any Basket Interference or Goal Tending)? Would it be a 2pt or 3pt goal? I believe it should be a 3pt. goal.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
No.
You would have 3 point shot because touching the ball by the defense does not change the status of the shot and where it was taken from.
Once the ball is below the rim or will clearly miss, the try (or defacto try) is over. 2 points if B (or A) then tips the ball in.

See...

4.41.4 SITUATION B: A1’s three-point try is short and below ring level when it
hits the shoulder of: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and rebounds to the backboard and through
the basket. RULING: The three-point try ended when it was obviously short and
below the ring. However, since a live ball went through the basket, two points are
scored in both (a) and (b). (5-1)
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Dec 02, 2011 at 01:43pm.
Reply With Quote