View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 13, 2011, 10:35am
Rob1968 Rob1968 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCHSAA View Post
What is the particular rules reference for a defensive player not legally being able to fall backwards right before contact???

The play is: A1 is driving to the basket and B1 has obtained LGP, but right before contact they begin to fall backwards. Then there is contact from A1's drive on B1's torso/or body.
Take a look at 4-7-2, the basis for block - charge plays. Then 4-23-3 e. tells us that "The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact."

Obviously, these statements are the inverse of your OP, and tell us that the guard may move backwards when contact is imminent.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote