View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 08, 2011, 03:02pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
Now that there is team control during a throw in - shouldn't that mean that a throw in from the front court to the back court is a violation? One that is tipped in the front court and is reganed in the back court should be a violation as well - correct?

We had an association meeting Sunday and dicussed fouls during the throw in but not this.

Thoughts?
Regardless of the fact that the rules, as actually written, do say exactly that, the comment that were published with the change indicate that ONLY fouls are affected by the change. They should have written the rule a LOT better such that it would clearly only relate to fouls but they didn't.

What they did was muddy the water such that some editor, in 10-15 years, will read the rules, not being aware of the comments on the change, and declare we've been calling it wrong.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote