Thread: Out of Bounds?
View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 07, 2011, 02:38am
JRutledge JRutledge is offline
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
Quote: "My player was bumped and lost his balance, left the ball in bounds, returned and placed two feet in bounds and was the first to touch the ball."

So, if the contact caused your player to go out of bounds, while holding the ball, I think, most often, the bump would be judged as sufficient to call a foul. Similarly, if the ball handler, holding the ball, were bumped and the contact caused him to travel, I think, most often, the contact would be judged sufficient to call a foul.
Yes if the defender did something illegal. Being "bumped" is subjective and in this case likely "coach speak." If a defender was moving legally and then the ball handler makes contact, then I would not penalize the defender for something they were legally doing, which is why I said you HTBT.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote