Thread: Legal Snap?
View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 01, 2011, 03:39pm
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim S View Post
Agreed. There are a number of things wrong with this play. As Ct1 says the play is illegal on it's own. You can normally figure if a coach is involved it's illegal. Also the QB is not set for a second before the snap after his shift. Since he took two steps to get there the foul is illegal motion, not shift. The play should have been calle dead immediately for the USL, but failing this it should have been called back for the motion foul. The crew that allowed this should be ashamed of themselves!
I agree with everything here except this. The two steps thing is puzzling: that's not in the rule. I agree it's illegal motion, but the ruling has nothing to do with how many steps he took: it's because he's a back in motion and the motion is toward the LOS.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote