View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 21, 2011, 12:58pm
BayStateRef BayStateRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
The AR says there are four possible fouls by an airborne shooter that are not player control:
  • personal foul
  • flagrant 1 personal foul
  • flagrant 2 personal foul
  • flagrant 2 non-contact technical foul
The test question asks if a flagrant 2 contact technical foul can occur during a live ball.


That is not one of the four options listed in the AR. I am still trying to figure out why the exception exists. If the player dunks the ball (now the ball is dead) and then commits a flagrant 2 foul (kicks someone in the head; excessive elbow to the face....whatever you can envision to be "not only excessive, but also severe or extreme"), why do we need the exception for an airborne shooter? Flagrant contact during a dead ball is a technical foul. The rule just told us that.
Reply With Quote