Quote:
Originally Posted by chymechowder
not sure I'm following. how is it unfair to A? they turned it over. they're incredibly fortunate to come away from their OT series with any points.
say in the first series of OT, team A throws a pick at the B-5. B22 begins to return the ball, but fumbles it backwards, where B20 falls on the ball in B's endzone. 2 points for A.
the series is over. would you say that A should be able to "decline" the safety? where would you give A the ball? at the spot of B's fumble? with a fresh set of goal to go downs? 
|
In NFHS OT procedures, the ball is dead as soon as B gains possession.
__________________
Mark
NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
|