View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 29, 2011, 03:47pm
MD Longhorn MD Longhorn is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebra14 View Post
Play last week.
K Punt from the 50. Ball bounces down to the 1, R is not near the ball to return it. The ball becomes at Rest for 1 1/2 seconds. K2 comes sliding in to down the ball but but his mometum carries it into the endzone. We then have the whistle of the play being dead.

I have heard 2 different rulings.

1. Ball at the 1 because the ball was at Rest so that means the play is dead right there.

2. Touchback as there was a force to bring it into the endzone.

Thoughts?
Assuming not NFL, you have the right ruling (1), but not the right reason. A ball at rest is not dead unless the official also believes no one is going to play on it. As stated by Inside, though, once K touches that resting ball, it IS dead.

Probably not an important distinction until you have that Mud Bowl game where R is actually still heading toward a bounding punt that goes PLUNK and sticks "at rest". R, if they are still trying to, can still pick up this ball.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote