View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 21, 2011, 08:10pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja View Post
Unless there is something to contradict rule 4-12, there is player control during a throw-in:

old 4-12: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.

new 4-12: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball.

Again, unless there is a rule reference, case reference or interpretation stating otherwise, this would mean that, by rule, 3 seconds is in effect during a throw-in.Clarification and consistency is definitely needed, since some potential repeated violations would be obvious.
No, the rule still does not affect the time during the throw-in. 9-7-1 requires team control in the front court. OOB is neither FC nor BC in NFHS rules, so 3 sec would not apply during the throw-in.

The only affect the rule change would have would be during the time after the throw-in pass bounces in the FC (TC and FC status are now in place) and before a player gains control inbounds (at which point the applicable rules are the same as last year). At most, we're talking about 2 seconds or so, so it's not really that big of an effect.

And of course, now we have the direction from the committee stating their intent so we can enforce the rule as intended rather than as written.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote