View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 21, 2011, 06:57pm
billyu2 billyu2 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
NFHS caseplay

Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja View Post
Unless there is something to contradict rule 4-12, there is player control during a throw-in:

old 4-12: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.

new 4-12: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball.

Again, unless there is a rule reference, case reference or interpretation stating otherwise, this would mean that, by rule, 3 seconds is in effect during a throw-in.

Clarification and consistency is definitely needed, since some potential repeated violations would be obvious.
From the NFHS Pre-Season Guide the following play is similar to the OP:
Play 2: Team A has a throw-in from the end line by its basket. A1 is handed the ball and the referee starts the throw-in count. A5 assumes a position in the lane and A1 releases the ball after 4 sec. and passes to A5, who puts in the basket. [B]Ruling: Legal play. There is no three second count since team control had not yet been established in Team A's frontcourt. Even though team control exists on the throw-in, no player or team control has been established on the court for purposes of a three-second violation.
Reply With Quote