View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 17, 2011, 09:20pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I know what the OP asked. In the literal sense it means A1 lifted his pivot and returned it to the floor before passing or shooting the ball, which is exactly what 4-44-3a says. 4-44-3b is what addresses a player who jumps. Everyone is telling Wade it's an illegal dribble but no one has posted a rule showing it to be an illegal dribble. 4-44-1 most definitely doesn't tell anybody it's an illegal dribble nor does any part of 9-5.

Struckoff (sp??) may be an idiot but complaining about her doesn't help as far as citing a current rule or case play for this scenario.
#1, Who said Struckoff was an idiot?

#2, as for the rules, 4-15-1 & 2 are the pertinent rules as it describes the action. Since the release of the ball is not a pass, shot or fumble, that leaves a dribble. When the player releases it and touches it again before it touches the floor, it's an illegal dribble.

#3, finally, the last rule to apply is 4-44.
Traveling (running with the ball) is moving a foot or feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits while HOLDING the ball.

You cannot travel without HOLDING the ball except as in 4.44.5B which is an identified circumvent of the rules.

In 4-44-3a, the player lifts AND returns the pivot to the floor while still HOLDING the ball.

In 4-44-3b, the player jumps AND returns to the floor while still HOLDING the ball.

You cannot travel without HOLDING the ball.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Sat Sep 17, 2011 at 10:53pm.
Reply With Quote