This actually isn't an illegal kick, but illegally kicking the ball. In the NCAA code, there is a difference. And the ball isn't dead (11 man; under 6 man exceptions the ball is dead IMMEDIATELY since Team A can not score) until the end of the play, not necessarily Team B possession, because it isn't a "kick" but rather, a fumble and loose ball because the holder lost possession of it. Its a 10 yard basic spot foul, but you would enforce from the previous spot. In this case, it would be half the distance.
As Jason said, the dimensions of the tee is irrelevant. Unless the officials perceive the device as being dangerous, and it isn't over 2" (Texas UIL; NCAA by rule its prohibited except on kickoff), we're OK.
I have actually seen this -- in an 11 man jr. high game about 4 years ago. Defensive lineman broke through and got to the held ball before the kicker did and kicked it.
|