View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 13, 2011, 12:11pm
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
Nothing in there that says that the captain is not allowed to consult with the coach; therefore, captain-coach consultation is allowed.

In practice, officials will just automatically accept/decline the penalty in 'obvious' situations (false start, encroachment, DPI/OPI, etc). If there's a non-obvious choice to be made (ie: holding called on a 3rd and 2 where the runner was stopped short of the line to gain at the edge of field goal range), the referee will often look directly to the coach for his choice, in the interests of expediency.

The practice of enforcing without consulting captains in the 98% of cases that are obvious is the prescribed mechanic in Ohio. Saves a great deal of time.
Reply With Quote