Thread: Traveling?
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 07, 2003, 08:59am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by longshot
This should be an easy one...but I see it called as a violation sometimes and sometimes not.

Player A has possession of the ball and jumps to attempt a shot or pass. Player B, on defense, legally strikes the ball causing Player A to momentarily loose control of the ball while he is in the air. Player A regains control of the ball, while in the air, and returns to the ground with the ball.

Is this is traveling violation?
Final answer is no. Casebook play 9.5.1:
"A1 ends a dribble and then jumps and releases the ball on a try for goal.B1 partially blocks the shot,but A1 secures control again while in the air.A1 returns to the floor and dribbles to the basket and scores".
RULING:"Legal maneuver.Both player and team control ended when A1 releases the ball.When A1 recovered s/he could dribble again similar to dribbling after catching a pass or rebound".

Also see casebook play 4.43.3. That one gives you the concept of why it is a travel if the shooter goes up,and then just drops the ball and recovers it--i.e.violation of either Rule 4-43-3(c) & 4.43.4(b)-player lifting their pivot foot before starting a dribble.

OK?


[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Mar 7th, 2003 at 08:10 AM]
Reply With Quote