View Single Post
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 26, 2011, 03:58pm
jr131981 jr131981 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Re-read the rule that actually uses the word abandonment ... can you apply that rule during a dead ball? An awarded base is done during a dead ball. If the runner fails to do their baserunning duties, the defense must appeal to get an out.
rule 8: the batter runner and runner
section 7: the runner is out
part u: when a runner abandons a base and enters the team area or leaves live ball territory.

i see nothing regarding live ball or dead ball

help me understand how the OPs scenario is different than youngumps from post 26
Quote:
Runner at third, catch and carry situation. Dead ball, you've got home. [runner] Goes straight to the dugout
Reply With Quote