View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 25, 2000, 02:36am
Mark Padgett Mark Padgett is offline
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by joec
Situation: The opening tip goes out of bounds off the visiting team (B). A is throwing the ball in from the side. A is called for a 5 second throw in violation.
When is the possession arrow set? I believe the arrow should have been set when the ball was placed at the disposal of A after the initial tip had been hit OOB. The arrow should be for B. I believe I screwed this up tonight at a varsity game. I set the arrow for A after the ball had been touched on the floor by B after the throw in (by B)following the 5 second violation. Commentary please, would be most welcome and appreciated
Since team B violated (caused the ball to go OOB) prior to a team gaining team control of the opening jump ball, by NF rule, team A gets a throw-in and the arrow is set to team B as soon as the ball is at the disposal of A for the throw-in.

Also by rule, when team A then violated on the throw-in, they lose the ball and the arrow. This is the only time the arrow is changed when a throw-in is not completed.
Reply With Quote