Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad
The violation is for the shot not hitting the ring or flange (the rim) before the shot clock horn sounds.
|
No it isn't...it is for not
releasing a shot before the shot clok horn sounds. The part about hitting the rim is to give it a concrete way to define if the shot was an adequate attempt vs. an attempt to skirt the shot clock rule.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad
Since the ball was in the air but did not hit the ring, the spot nearest the violation should be the endline.
|
Just to play devil's advocate...
What if the "shot" doesn't get anywhere close to the rim.....maybe it was a full court heave that, due to the shooter being off balance, that landed at the top of the key or at the division line.
Also, what if the thrown ball was a pass to a player near the rim (alley-oop) and the horn sounds just after the pass was released.
It seems that the defensive team should gain possession after the violation at the point where the other team had legally advanced the ball before the violation.
Also, IIRC, there have been rulings that the violation occurs retroactively to the point where the horn sounds....not when a shot misses...a delayed violation. Those cases, IIRC, related to the game clock status in the end game when the shot clock expires with little game time remaining and provide that the game clock is restored to the time when the shot clock expired.
If I'm remember that case correctly, that would support that the violation has already occurred before the ball nears the rim....perhaps just after the release.
What effect might that have on the location?