Thread: Make the call
View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 28, 2003, 02:43pm
greymule greymule is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Just because the defense plays on a runner who is out, that doesn't mean the runner ipso facto interfered. I don't know what rule Fed has established, but in everything else a runner who continues to run is not necessarily guilty of interference if the defense plays on him. If he pretends to be caught in a rundown or something, that's different. I wouldn't call a runner out for continuing to run unless I believed he was intending to mislead the defense.

I admit that drawing a throw by running back to 3B after scoring, even if in a genuine but mistaken attempt to correct an error, might be a case of its own.

OK, it's a Fed play. So what's the ruling, oppool?
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote