Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
To me this is no different from when 2B comes loose when R1 slides in hard but safely, and the base ends up in left field, 5 feet from the runner. But you're banging that runner out because he's not touching the base, right? Anything else would be cheating. 
|
Well, actually, it's completely different. There's a rule that tells us what to do if the base becomes dislodged, and that runner you describe IS safe ... by rule. There is no such rule regarding the plate.