Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953
"Blue, that's obstruction. My runner gets home."
"Nope, Coach, I've got the fielder in the act of fielding, trying to make the catch."
"You do agree that the ball was well past him when they collided don't you."
"Sure, but the fielder didn't have time to try to get out of the way".
"The rules say he can no longer be considered in the act of fielding once the ball is past him".
"Nope, it's a judgment call, Coach".
Clearly, to me at least, that is a misapplication of the rules. Is that the kind of explanation from an ump that would be grounds to file a protest? I just don't know how the mechanic works.
|
Although ruling on obstruction is a judgment call, the umpire in your scenario has exhibited that he has misapplied the rule. His words, not his call, would open the call to protest, I think. (My state and no league I work allow protests, so I've never been involved in one, so I'm no expert here.)