View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 21, 2011, 01:30pm
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953 View Post
I was wondering that myself. Still the LL rulebook has and had the "once the ball has passed the fielder" example. The specific example pertained to a missed ground ball - a batted ball. It would seem the same would apply to a THROWN BALL. Especially when the fielder was 10 feet in front of 3B in a rundown situation and the contact prevented the runner from getting back to the bag.
For a thrown ball, the fielder is liable for obstruction if he does not have the ball (FED) or is not "in the act of fielding" the ball (OBR). If a throw gets past a fielder, then he is not in the act of fielding a throw; he is chasing a loose ball, and he is thus liable to be called for obstruction.

I'm not really sure what your question is (despite your many words), but I hope that helps!
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote