View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 19, 2011, 08:07am
Gulf Coast Blue Gulf Coast Blue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gulf Coast of TX to Destin Fl
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Keith View Post
Thanks for the reply but I want to make sure I understand the logic you used to get your conclusion.

Because the temporary fence in use here was a soft netting, it is really impossible for the ball to hit on top of the fence and bounce over like a traditional fence. Therefore, if I am interpreting your comments correctly, any ball that touches this type of fence in the air and goes over is a ground rule double. Even if it just clips the fence?
If it clips the fence, that would be hitting the top......correct?

The interpretation is my own as there is no guidance other than the rules you cited and the Rule Supplement I showed.

Using that information is how I came to my conclusion.

For example......if you had a metal chain link fence that was leaning out severely and the ball hit the center of it and went over......that would not fit the definition of hitting the top of the fence. Same logic applies to a temporary fence.

Joel
Reply With Quote