Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM)
Mike,
Are you suggesting you would award the batter 1B in this sitch? That is, are you suggesting this would properly be ruled Catcher's Interference under OBR rules?
IMO, that's an insupportable ruling; the 6.06(c) Comment regarding backswing interference strikes me as the way to go. Time, runners return.
JM
|
+1
Interference and obstruction involve hindering a player's legitimate attempt to make a play. If the batter is not offering at a pitch, he cannot be interfered with/obstructed (OBR/FED).
JM, in FED presumably you'd have to call BI on this, since FED has no backswing INT rule.