View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 21, 2011, 09:47am
soundedlikeastrike soundedlikeastrike is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wa.
Posts: 198
Can I assist my fellow runner?

Last night M's, Padres.

1 out R1, R3.
FB to the LC gap.

F7 makes a long run gets to the ball appears to snag it, but then clearly drops it, no catch is the correct call.

R1 advances towards 2B on the fly, goes maybe 7/8's the way, see's the ball is reached, turns and hustles back to 1B thinking it was caught.

BR rounding first runs into and pushes R1 back towards 2b, he does not pass R1.

R1 heads for 2B, the throw from F8 forces R1 at 2nd, BU signals an out on the force.

Umpires huddle up (unprovoked by either team, that I could tell).

Announcer watching the replay say's; "oh, he (BR) touched him (R1).

PU calls OHC out and splains something to him, points at BR now R1 and rings him up, then pulls the forced R1 out of the dugout and places him on 2nd.

I do not know if they actually called the BR out because he assisted R1 or if they actually thought he passed R1?
__________________
SLAS
Reply With Quote