View Single Post
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2011, 08:11pm
justanotherblue justanotherblue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: At the base of the mountains
Posts: 377
Coach read 801d comment again slowly this time.....

Rule 8.01(d) Comment: A ball which slips out of a pitcher’s hand and crosses the foul line shall be called a ball; otherwise it will be called no pitch. This would be a balk with men on base.

So, if a dropped ball doesn't cross the line, it's a balk, with runners on. If it crosses the line, it's a ball. Can't make it any clearer than that. That said, chances are if a pitcher drops the ball while on the rubber it's not going to cross the foul lines. Therefore you'll have your balk.
__________________
Its' not a matter of being right or wrong, it's a matter of working hard to get it right.

Last edited by justanotherblue; Tue May 03, 2011 at 08:16pm. Reason: clarity....hopefully
Reply With Quote