View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2011, 02:28pm
MrUmpire MrUmpire is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Yes it does - if you read the interpretations you will find that if it crosses the foul line it's ruled a ball, not a balk.
That interpretation is specifically cited when the ball is dropped during a pitch, not a throw to first. And, if I recall, since I don't have my book with me, JEA makes a distinction between the two.
Reply With Quote