View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2011, 02:21pm
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Dykhoff View Post
=====

MLB RULEBOOK

8.05 If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when—

(k) The pitcher, while touching his plate, accidentally or intentionally drops the ball;

=====

You can not drop the ball while you are on the mound. The foul line has nothing to do with this rule.
Yes it does - if you read the interpretations you will find that if it crosses the foul line it's ruled a ball, not a balk.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote