View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 11:05am
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Rita, you may consider this insignificant, but it really isn't.

There is no "rubber" in softball. If you really think you are a softball umpire, then you should call it what SOFTBALL calls it; a pitcher's plate. Just like no mound; that is the circle.

Respect the game, use the game's terminology.

That said, it really matters NOT that the pitcher happened to be in contact with he pitcher's plate while making a play. Not a pitch, therefore not an illegal pitch. The question, like the terminology, reeks of baseball, not softball.
To Rita, and anyone else insulted by the post above.

The last sentence was unnecessary, and inappropriate. I apologize for that; I had a bad day, was already short umpires (as an assignor), had to work 5 straight 16A games with teams that are ASA National caliber to free an umpire to work elsewhere, and STILL had a no-show on another site that got me cussed out numerous times that day.

Stopped and drank a few, then came home, shouldn't have posted that.

The rest of the post I stand behind. Use rulebook terminology in every possible setting, and especially only use defined terms as used in the rulebook.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote