Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
My contention is that even without 9-9-1(a) there is no rules basis to call 3-seconds on a front court throw-in under NCAA rules. And I say that even without exceptions you would still be able to legally throw-in directly to a teammate who has back court status.
I agree that certain exceptions are needed in regards to front/back court status for tipped balls and players who leave their feet.
|
Agreed, a thrower does not have either FC or BC status, as both courts are defined as being in bounds. That said, an exception would still need to be made, otherwise the 3 second count would need to start as soon as the ball touched the FC or was tipped by any player (offensive or defensive) in the throw-in team's FC.
The same situation applies to the 10 second BC violation.