Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie
Lets Focus on NFHS rule application on this play:
1) Does Paul tipping the ball away from Kobe effect the 10 second count?
2) If Paul would have tipped it away while in frontcourt and Kobe recovered in backcourt..any problem?
Thanks!
|
Per NFHS:
1) If Paul is in the backcourt and deflects the ball away, it doesn't affect the 10 second count. The rule says a team can not be in continuous control of the ball for 10 seconds. Team control does not end when the defense deflects the ball.
2. If Paul deflected the ball while in the frontcourt, and Kobe allowed the ball to hit in the backcourt, there would be a new 10 second count. The ball gained frontcourt status when Paul touched it while in the frontcourt. Now we may have some issues with backcourt violations (per a stupid interpretation from NFHS) but for the matter of a new count, yes there would be a new count as soon as the ball gained backcourt status.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.
Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.
Last edited by APG; Wed Apr 20, 2011 at 01:06pm.
|