Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyBrown
In the first passage of Billy's that I quoted, wouldn't touching to gain an advantage be an exception under 10-3-4a?
In the second, wouldn't less significant contact than Billy describes need to be added if it caused the ring to vibrate (including when try in flight or ball touching backboard) under 10-3-4b?
|
This post by
randall says absolutely nothing.
Here are the rules he cites:
Quote:
Originally Posted by NFHS 10-3-4 Player Technical
...Illegally contact the backboard/ring by:
a. Placing a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage
b. Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try to tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.
|
randall doesn't grasped these rules because he never officiated in his life and doesn't understand the concept of judgement. He doesn't understand that officials have to
judge advantage and intent. He thinks judgement should be hard coded somewhere in the rule book.
He is upset because when he attends his HS games different officials have differing judgement on the same or similar plays and there are no concrete words in the rule book spelling out how judgement should be determined from official to official.
You'll have to excuse my little mini-rant but I was out of town the last 2 weeks on business and couldn't really address this clown like I wanted to.