Thanks for the reply. I've been mulling over your answers and have a couple of clarifying questions.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
1) On the OBS, the umpire decides "how far" to protect the runner. If the runner is out by "a lot" at home, then the out stands. If the play is close, the the runner would be awarded home on the OBS.
|
I see. So the runner is awarded whatever base he can reasonably be determined to have achieved had the obstruction not occurred. Thus a close play at any base on an obstructed runner, the runner is awarded the base.
I guess the confusion on my part is the mistake by F5. Had the overthrow not occurred, R1 likely wouldn't have advanced beyond second. Yet it seems that the obstruction does not negate any continuing action. I can't quite word it correctly, but it seems that all action is considered independent of the obstruction.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
3) The ball is dead on the interference. R3 returns to third. The batter is awarded first (since the interference didn't interfere with a likely DP).
|
And R2 is out, right?
And the 'test' thread got me thinking of another interference situation. This has probably been discussed before, and is perhaps common, but I wonder about the nature of the dead ball.
Two outs. Batter hits a ground ball to left field. R3 scores easily. R2 continues past third and is on his way home. F7 throws home, and R3 seeing the potential close play at home, interferes with F2. R2 scores.
Now, as discussed before, the ball is dead upon the interference. So, R2 returns to 3rd, right? But since R3 already scored, he can't be called out (already a retired runner). How is this dealt with?
Also, consider same but at the bottom of the 9th, the home team trailing by 1 run. Does this change how you would rule (R3 interfered to unfairly help his team win the game)?