View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 19, 2011, 09:07pm
dileonardoja dileonardoja is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 78
Lets say the slide was legal but the ball beats the R1 at 2B. When does the ball become dead? If not until all action ceases then what is the call on the runner into second?

For type B obstruction, the PBUC manual states that if "a play on a previously obstructed runner results in that runner actually being tagged out before reaching the base to which he would have been awarded because of the obstruction, the umpire in that case shall call "Time" at the moment the runner is tagged out."

In this case it is force so there is a tag of R1 only a touch of the base. But does this mechanic still apply as soon as F4 touches 2B for the FO? In that case the INT never happens.
Reply With Quote