
Thu Mar 10, 2011, 08:57am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeStrybel
Good morning David, I was responding to Durham.
Maybe I am reading this wrong - the internet limits clarity. I read, "...if he needs to change a call I bite the bullet for him,..." as a partner allowing another umpire to thrust the burden of making the call on myself. I also see it as changing a call and pretending that you got advice from your partner when that is not true. If the umpire made a hasty call, has doubt but I didn't see the play, I will not change the call for him and won't allow him to do it. That is not what conferring is supposed to be about. Ask me what I have and if I cannot offer a better look, the original call stands.
If Durham means something different, my apologies. I have written things that others misconstrue and have had to clarify later. His other posts seems to indicate that he knows what he is doing out there, so I suspect this is just one of those things.
Enjoy your season!
|
I took it to mean that if my partner changes his call after getting information from me, I will confirm to the coach what I saw (if necessary). It's not really biting the bullet for him, it's just backing him up.
|