Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
I think this is serious overkill here.
It is a DDB. If the pitcher stops at that point and there is no pitch imminent, kill it and apply the appropriate rule.
But if the pitcher doesn't stop and continues with a pitch, are you prepared to tell the batter that the ball she just hit over the fence doesn't count because you don't believe the pitch should be allowed?
There are reasons an IP is a DDB and this is one of them.
|
Even though I logically and philosophically agree, the official word for
NFHS in Delaware is
Immediate DB and the pitch is dead regardless of thrown or not, along with the other Article 1 infractions.
The
ASA book does not say the pitcher can remove herself, so it would seem ths same applies, unless you are decreeing otherwise.