Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Judgment call. And as you have already judged above as highlighted that the defender didn't make a legitimate attempt to play the ball and only fouled to stop the clock, your only option by rule(NFHS R4-19-3) is to call an intentional personal foul.
Of course, others(JRut) might disagree with your judgment that the defender wasn't playing the ball. 
|
+1
Around here, the fouler gets considerable leeway. You'd have to wrap up the dribbler, grab jersey, or some (obvious) such to warrant an INT.