View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 02, 2011, 07:09am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by chymechowder View Post
Question from a rookie official:

Does an intentional foul "trump" a team control foul?

Say A1 is dribbling and backing over the division line into his front court. He dribbles it off his foot and it rolls into his backcourt. B1 runs past A1 to retrieve the ball. A1 grabs B1 by the back of the shirt to prevent B1 from scooping it up en route to an easy layup?

So is this intentional? Two shots and possession for B?

Or is it a TC foul? Just a throw-in for B?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
...and is two shots and the ball, even if committed by a player on the team in control.

Yes, you might consider the penalty for the INT, pointed out by Camron, "trumps" that of a common foul and the example you gave is exactly why the INT trumps a common foul.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote