View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 01, 2011, 11:15am
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
1) It depends if the whistle was blown prior to B1 gaining possession. Even if it was split second before, the ball should go to A. If it was after, B should get the ball. May not seem fair, but "accidental whistles" get resumed with the point of interruption, which in this case would mean the ball would go to whichever team had legal "team control" at the point of the whistle.
2) B should stop arguing in a 4-6th grade game. They're right about the rule, but they're 10 year old kids. Some discretion on the part of the officials isn't really out of order on this play.
3) A player falling to the floor with the ball is a travel. I can't recall if the NCAA has a pivot foot rule on this, though. High school does not. Again, however, see #2.

4) Contact a local assigner and be prepared to pay a little bit more for your officials.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote