View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 1999, 08:37am
ken roberts ken roberts is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 83
Post

why would you start a 10 count when you say it is a backcourt violation?

I completely agree with Mark, but this reminds me of something a lot of refs don't know: if Team A has control of the ball in the frontcourt when the ball is batted into backcourt by Team A or B, a ten-second count should begin the instant the achieves backcourt status.

This isn't a big deal if A causes the ball to enter the backcourt since it'll be a violation if they touch the ball first.

However, if Team B caused the ball to roll slowly into the backcourt and A1 lollygags his way back to recover the ball, there's a good chance the 10 second count will expire.

This would be a fun one to sell to Team A's coach. In fact, i suspect that some Rules Interpreters might deem this a Mickey Mouse(tm) call. But until i hear otherwise, i'll call it by the book...
Reply With Quote