Thread: The Elbows
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2011, 01:07pm
jeffpea jeffpea is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Just to clarify: one is a VIOLATION (No Contact) and with Contact a Foul?

Has to be Excessive in the judgement of the official?
A1 rebounds the ball, swings elbows excessively and there is NO CONTACT w/ defender = a violation (ball to awarded to Team B at spot nearest where violation occurred).

A1 rebounds the ball, swings elbows and there is CONTACT w/ defender = player control foul (ball to be awarded to Team B at spot nearest to where foul occurred; no FT's shot as it is a team control foul).

A1 rebounds the ball, swings elbows and makes EXCESSIVE CONTACT w/ defender = intentional personal foul (B2 shoots 2 FT's and ball is awarded to Team B at spot nearest where foul occurred). Keep in mind that an intentional foul can be called either based on intent to foul (no attempt to play the ball) OR excessive contact.

A1 rebounds the ball, swings elbows in a COMBATIVE manner with SEVERE CONTACT of defender = flagrant personal foul (B2 shoots 2 FT's, A1 is ejected, and ball awarded to Team B at spot nearest to where foul occurred).


Remember that you shoot 2 FT's on EVERY intentional foul called...EXCEPT when a player is fould in the act of shooting a 3pt shot - then he/she gets 3 shots...
Reply With Quote