View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 10:11pm
Umpmazza Umpmazza is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NorCal
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 View Post
This is a question from the NCAA test. The NCAA OBS rule is now the same as OBR. Let me know what you think and why. I believe there is no correct answer.

R1, R3, no outs. R1 is stealing and gets caught in a rundown and is obstructed. After obstruction has been called on F4, R3 is thrown out at the plate.

a. R1 is returned to first base and R3 is awarded home.
b. Award R1 third base on the obstruction.
c. R3 is awarded home since he was advancing to the plate when obstruction was called and R1 is awarded second base.
d. The out on R3 stands
Take each play as it goes..

R1 is in a rundown, and gets Obstructed? That is considered a play on a runner, which makes the ball "Dead" and since R3 had not advanced to his next base he is sent back to his base unless he was forced, and in this play R3 was not forced.. Since R1 is awarded 1 base from his last legally touched base R1 would be sent to 2nd. and the same for R3 he gets sent back to his last legally touched base which is 3rd... So really there is no correct answer here.. If you want I can ask to the Pro guys here at school?
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them."
Reply With Quote