View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 26, 2011, 10:28am
tref tref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Hands part of the ball

Conversing with a veteran official in our post-game last night, we disscussed the following:

4-24-2
It is legal use of hands to reach to block or slap the ball controlled by a dribbler or a player throwing for goal or a player holding it and accidentally hitting the hand of the opponent when it is in contact with the ball.

Since "while passing" was not mentioned, I thought accidentally hitting the hand in a passing situation was a foul... but incidental contact while passing the ball fits the following rule.

10-6-2
A player shall not contact an opponent with his/her hand unless such contact is only with the opponent's hand while it is on the ball and is incidental to an attempt to play the ball.


What says ye? Caseplays are welcomed, thanks!
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote