View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 01, 2003, 09:28pm
TriggerMN TriggerMN is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 744
I don't know if this is the proper thing to do in NCAA, but it IS the correct thing to to in NFHS. It's in the case book somewhere; I read it last year. If one has block, the other has charge, and neither will budge, by rule it's a double foul, and you go to the arrow.

This happened in the Iowa State-Michigan State regional final a couple of years back. One official called a charge on Iowa State, the other called a block on Michigan State. Neither official would budge. However, the third official came over and basically told them to make a decision one way or the other. Finally, the charge was called on ISU's Marcus Fizer, fouling him out of the game. Soon afterward, Larry Eustachy got dinged twice and tossed, and MSU had the win at the Palace to advance to the final four, which they won.
Reply With Quote