View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 25, 2011, 12:01pm
bainsey bainsey is offline
Back from the DL
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Originally Posted by Judtech View Post
H1 lowers shoulder and puts V1 into the wall. No call. "Why was there no call? She lowered her shoulder" Ofc2: "They were running side by side when the girl put her shoulder down so no call". ME: "You might want to check LGP in your rule book at half time"
This one throws me a bit.

Just because the dribbler/shooter lowers a shoulder does not mean the defender has LGP. That has to be obtained and maintained. If they were indeed running side-by-side, it's kind of hard to obtain LGP.

Granted, you can still commit a player control foul without the defender having LGP (extended appendage), but I've yet to see "lowering the shoulder" in the rule book. I think this one is a matter of judgment.
Reply With Quote