Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
So if a defender reaches over the plane and touches the ball in the thrower's hand during a throw-in, according to that logic it has to be a personal foul?
Have you got a rule that says "A player shall not contact an opponent with his FACE unless such such contact by his FACE is only with his opponent's hand while it is on the ball and is incidental in an attempt to play the ball." I can't remember seeing any rule like that.
Got it, JAR.
And thanks for playing. 
|
Nobody is talking about touching the ball, during a throw-in, or any other time. Nobody is talking about touching anybody in the face.
The ball rolls loose in the lane. A1 picks it up right in front of the rim. B1 bodies up, hands straight up, trying to prevent a shot attempt. As A1 comes up from the floor with the ball in both hands, he places the ball against B1's chest, gives him a subtle push, just enough to cause B1 to take a step back, then goes up and dunks.
The fact that he pushed using the ball in both hands, rather than extending only one hand and pushing with it, does not change the play. Conceivably, if the official is behind A1, it might be impossible to tell the difference.