quote:
Originally posted by John Choiniere:
It seems in this situation there were runners on 2nd and 3rd that were tagging up. Both umps were concentraing on runner on 3rd. What is ruling in that situation. Both runners tag up. Runner from 3rd scores. Runner from 2nd leaves early and is ruled out on appeal play. Does run count if appeal play is 3rd out of the inning?
Yes, run would still have scored even if the umpires saw R2 leave early and called out on the appeal, providing that R3 scored before the out was called. So I guess both umps wanted to get the only meaningful call right. Chuckle. G.